1st Annual LA County Yarn Crawl!

Standard
1st Annual LA County Yarn Crawl!

It was a blaaaast, you guys!!! From Thursday April 12 – Sunday April 15, twenty-eight LA County stores participated in the first (of hopefully many!) annual event. For $5 you could download a passport (and get a tote bag! A TOTE BAG!) that you would take around with you to different stores, get stamped, and be entered in some pretty awesome raffles! FOUR DAYS OF YARN AND SALES AND KNITTING AND LOVE! I can’t even. My friend and I only got to go out on Saturday for the event, but from the sound of things from the store owners, there were PACKS of yarn-enthusiasts gallivanting around LA on both Thursday and Friday. And Friday was a rare, gross, rainy day. And they were STILL out en masse! A beautiful sight, indeed!

Had I been smart about this from the beginning, I would have taken notes and snapped a few pictures so I could have written a proper review of the event… but 2 weeks after the fact, all the details are a little hazy. NEXT TIME I WILL DO BETTER! These are the stores we hit up on Saturday:

Stitch Cafe – They were really awesome! The shop is super cozy with a great selection of yarn, and the staff was really nice and helpful! Even though my friend and I were only ogling everything with massive eyeballs and trying not to drool. (They have an LA Kings hockey Stitch n Bitch once a season. I must go next time!)

La Knitterie Parisienne – So. Intense. Is all I can say. It’s like a massive, somewhat crowded, cave of wonder and magic and joy and joyness. And the owner was simply a DELIGHT! She talked to us for a while about the Yarn Crawl and all the crowds that had been through her store. And the button walls…ooooh the button walls…Do stop here if you need buttons and magic!

Sit ‘N Stitch -Teeny shop w yarn, needlepoint, and cross-stitch. VERY friendly, go our tote!! (woo hoo!)

Unwind Yarn – MOST. MAGICAL. SHOP. ON. THE. PLANET. If I had a yarn store, this is the way I would do it. The space is amazing and huge, there’s plenty of fun yarn to look at, as well as plenty of space to have KALs or stitch n bitches, hanging out and basking in the glory that is THIS STORE. We were there for at least an hour and a half, the staff were amazingly friendly (and so were the other patrons! AGH! LOVE!) There was a book signing for an ADORABLE book called Extra Yarn, and a raffle that we signed up for 5 minutes after walking in the door, and the drew for it 10 minutes after we walked through the door (timing, I tell ya, it’s everything!). I ended up winning the grand prize of two skeins of yarn, bamboo needles, and THE box that they used for a prop in the book. I got to give the box to the most adorable 4 year old of all time, because it’s her favorite book and she reads it every night with her mom, and it made me the happiest lady, EVER. She was so *cute*. This is what I did with the yarn:

I found a fun stitch in the Vogue Stitchionary knit + purl volume and threw these together. Designed and knit by SixCraftsUnder, photo by Breanne Patterson.

My friend Brea did the quickest photo shoot of all time to get me this wonderful picture!

A Major Knitwork – Cute, teeny store with the most amazing, sweet older ladies and gents. They loved our short red hair. We loved their short grey and white hair. It was awesome šŸ™‚

Hook’d On Knitting – This was the last store we hit! At this point it’s about 4 o’clock in the afternoon and we were wiiiiped out. We didn’t know how long we would be able to last at this store, but we put 30 min in the meter, pulled up our big girl panties, and went head first into a world of awesome. The store was completely GORGEOUS and breath-taking. I wish we could have been there when we had more than two braincells to rub together, because it was all a little overwhelming. Ladies at this big ol’ table knitting, big windows everywhere with so much natural sunshine coming in, sooo many beautiful skeins of yarn in shelves on the wall..it was amazing. And we met a very awesome person who runs the stitch ‘n bitch in Sherman Oaks (they have cheesy movie knitting afternoons and it sounds wonderful). She had seen us in Unwind and just decided to strike up a conversation. THIS IS WHY YARNIES ARE AWESOME.

All in all I had a GREAT time at the Yarn Crawl and I can’t wait to go again next year! The only bummer was I didn’t know that I should have left my passport at the last store we visited, so my friend and I didn’t get entered in the big contest šŸ˜¦ But live and learn! It was still amazing to discover all of these stores, and even the other ones that we didn’t get to! I’m sure we’ll use the list in future yarn escapades! So take a bow, Yarn Crawl Coordinators, It. Was. Epic. Two thumbs way, way up.

(c) 2012 Elsha Wolf. All rights reserved. Photo by Breanne Patterson.
Duplication in whole or substantial portion is explicitly forbidden.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

